Dr.Sheikh Chinna Moulana

Dr.Sheikh Chinna Moulana

Dr.Sheikh Chinna Moulana

Sheik Chinna Moulana popularly known as Sheik was a legendary Nadhaswaram Player in the Carnatic tradition. He achieved high position through his outstanding control over the instrument, rendering the Krities in the Gayaki style and for his extraordinary style of Raga Alapana.

Sheik Chinna Moulana hails from a family of Music (Nadhaswaram Players). The ancient and traditional art of Nadhaswaram playing had been preserved and fostered by the ancestors of Sheik Chinna Moulana, for the past 300 years.

Sheik Chinna Moulana was born in Karavadi Village, Prakasam District, Andhra Pradesh. Even at very early age he achieved proficiency in Nadhaswaram, first under the tutorship of his father Sheik Kasim Sahib and later under Sheik Adam Sahib, a renowned Nadhaswaram player of Chilakaluripeta, Andhra Pradesh.

Recognizing the importance and the role of “Thanjavur Bhaani” (style of playing) he very much wanted to get trained in this. With this in view, he was under the tutelage of M/s. Rajam and Duraikannu brothers of Nachiarkovil (Thanjavur District – Tamilnandu) for some years.

Chinna Moulana was a childhood admirer of T.N. Rajarathnam Pillai, and observed Rajarathinam Pillai as his Maanasika Guru. Chinna Moulana closely observed the style of Rajarathinam Pillai from the early age itself and adapted Rajarathinam Pillai’s playing techniques in his own playing style. Sheik Chinna Moulana gave is first performance in 60s in Tamil Nadu, India and quickly gained renown.

Awards & Titles

• “Mangala Vadhya Visaradha”- at Kumbakonam in 1964
• “Kalaimamani”- Govt. of Tamil Nadu in 1976
• “Padmasri”- Govt. of India in 1977
• “Central Sangeet Natak Academy award” – in 1977
• “Ganakala Prapooma”- Andhra Pradesh Sangeet Natak Academy in 1980
• “Gandharva Kalanidhi” – at Rajamundry( A.P)” in 1981
• “Madhura Kala Praveena” – Sadhguru Sangeetha Samajam, Madurai
• “Nadhaswara Kalanidhi” – Saraswathy Kala Samithy, Machilipatnam, Andhra Pradesh, in 1984
• “Sapthagiri Vidhwanmani”- Thyagaraja Festival Committee, Tirupati -1984
• “Akhila Bharatha Nadhaswara Eka Chakradhipathi” – Sri Jambukeshwar Dewasthanam, Trichy, in 1985
• “Hon. Degree of Doctorate” – Andhra University, Visakhapatnam in 1985
• “Honour by Telugu University”- at Hyderabad in 1987
• “Award of Senior Fellowship” – Govt. of India in 1988
• “Sangeetha Vidhwanmani” – Thyagaraja kala Samithy, Vijayawada – 1988
• “Emeritus Fellowship” – Awarded by the Govt. of India in 1993
• “Bridhu” awarded by H.H. Shri Jagadguru Srimad Bharathi Teertha Mahaswamy at Shringeri in 1993. Also appointed as the Asthana Vidhwan of Shringeri mutt
• “Sangeetha Kala Nipuna” – Mylapore Fine Arts Club, Madras on 11.12.1993 conferred by Shri. R. Venkatraman, President of India
• “Isai Peraringar” – Tamil Isai Sangam, Madras – conferred by Hon’ble Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu Dr. J. Jayalalitha on 21.12.1993
• “Sangeetha Rathna Mysore T. Chowdaiah National Award” – Conferred by His Excellency Shri. K.R. Narayanan, Vice- President of India, at the Academy of music, Bangalore on 4.3.1995.
• “Award of Rajarathna” – Muthamizh Peravai, Madras on 1.12.1995, conferred by Sri. M. Karunanidhi, Hon’ble Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
• “Sangeetha Kalanidhi” – conferred by Music Academy, Chennai on 1.1.1999.